Tue, 14 Jul 2020

Cape Town - Bafana Bafana join Sao Tome and Principe, Ghana and Sudan in Group C in qualification for the 33rd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament to take place in Cameroon in 2021.

Sao Tome earned a historic victory over Mauritius - winning 3-1 in the first round of the preliminary stage and followed it up with a 2-1 victory in the second leg for a 5-2 overall aggregate.

Sao Tome are ranked 190th in the world and play their home matches at the Estadio Nacional 12 de Julho, which is a 6 500-seater venue.

The 48 teams have been divided into 12 groups of four each and the top two sides from each group will earn a ticket to the 2021 showpiece.

South Africa kick off their campaign with an away trip Ghana on Friday, November 15 in Kumasi, and will then host Sudan four days later (Tuesday, November 19) at the Orlando Stadium in Soweto.

The 2021 AFCON qualifiers will then take a nine-month break.

When the competition resumes in 2020, South Africa will play back-to-back (home and away) matches against Sao Tome in September.

A month later, South Africa will welcome Ghana for an epic home clash before Molefi Ntseki's charges travel to Sudan for their final Group C match in November.

As the host nation, Cameroon have already secured their spot for the final tournament draw (to take place in 2021).

However, the Indomitable Lions will take part in the qualifiers to gain competitive match practise in Group F - this means Cape Verde, Mozambique and Rwanda will contest for the two qualifying spots in the group.

November 19, 2019: v Sudan (H)

October 10, 2020: v Ghana (H)

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Chad.

Group D: DR Congo, Gabon, Angola, The Gambia

Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros

Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea

More Florida News

Access More

Sign up for Jacksonville News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!